Blog Archives

Sustainability by the numbers

Mark Kilgore, lecturer in the College of Engineering and Computer Science and doctoral candidate, plans to develop a new measure to evaluate sustainability. He is developing a numerical system as part of his doctoral research. Currently, environmentally sound design earns LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification in Platinum, Gold, and Silver awards, but there is no numerical rating system for the sustainability of a building project. “I

Tagged with:

Research addresses heat-related illnesses in athletes

When scorching summer temperatures create dangerous conditions for athletes, Dr. Brendon McDermott is often asked to share his findings in the field. “My goal in the research that I do is to prevent sudden death in sports. Death is 100 per cent preventable with exertion heat stroke, even if it ends up happening. My goal is to get that out to people,” said McDermott, associate professor and clinical coordinator

Tagged with:

Clarinet studies coordinator performs at 2010 Piccolo Spoleto Festival

Music faculty member Nikolasa Tejero was selected to perform recently in the 2010 Spotlight Concert series of the Piccolo Spoleto Festival.  Tejero, who serves as coordinator of clarinet studies and directs the UTC Clarinet Ensemble and UTC Professional Accompanist Tim Hinck were covered in The Charleston Post and Courier Spoleto Festival edition, which stated “Tejero and Hinck… played expressively, with technical and musical mastery.” Festival planners requested at least

Tagged with:

Social work program receives national accreditation

The University’s social work program has been approved for full accreditation status from the Council on Social Work Education, the national accrediting body for undergraduate and graduate social work programs.

Tagged with:

Kovach, Symes earn UTAA awards

Students and faculty peers selected Dr. Margaret Kovach and Dr. Steven Symes as recipients of the 2010 University of Tennessee Alumni Association’s Outstanding Teacher Award. The annual award is bestowed upon two faculty members who have demonstrated a passion for teaching, a commitment to their students, and a dedication to higher education.

Tagged with: