Blog Archives

Butterfield Fellowship Inducts Four Hamilton County Instructors

These new Fellows will expand the ability of the current Butterfield Fellowship to mentor and provide professional development to a wider range of teachers. We believe the new class will be strong addition to the current Butterfield Fellows.

Tagged with:

Dr. June Hanks Honored with THEC Service Award

Dr. June E. Hanks, Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Therapy, was recently named one of the five 2018 Harold Love Outstanding Community Service Award for Faculty/Staff. Honored by her un-selfish efforts to the people of Haiti in 2010 after earthquakes ravaged homes and health care facilities. Dr. Hanks temporarily left the United States, and her faculty position at UTC, to tend to thousands of Haitian citizens in

Tagged with:

UTC Receives Approval for New MPH Program

In November, the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC) approved a new Master’s in Public Health (MPH) program that will be offered by the Department of Health & Human Performance in the fall of 2018. The MPH program will be developed with a specific emphasis on chronic disease prevention and control and will begin enrolling students in January for the 2018 fall semester. To learn more about the MPH program

Tagged with:

Inaugural Butterfield Fellowship Honors Six Local Recipients

Fellows Will Be Working Close with UTC via Emphasis on Classroom Behavior On August 23rd six local teachers who have demonstrated effective, positive behavior management with students from diverse backgrounds were awarded a Butterfield Fellowship from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. Here are the six Fellows honored, along with their respective school and grade level concentration: Jessica Blevins, Rivermont Elementary School, Pre-Kindergarten* Ranita Glenn, Hardy Elementary, Reading Specialist*

Tagged with:

High School Students Analyze Data for Motion Lab Project

Inside the Mapp Building holds one of many rooms that has huge potential to help athletes and people everywhere. The UTC Motion Analysis Lab researches ways to prevent running injuries and improve running performance. Motion capture technology available collects data from both jumping and running movement. Dr. Jeremiah Tate, lab director and professor, recently updated the lab’s equipment, but is needing assistance in processing data more efficiently along with

Tagged with:

Dr. Marisa Colston Named Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer

Houston, TX – Dr. Marisa A. Colston, Interim Department Head of Health and Human Performance, was recognized as one of the National Athletic Trainers’s Association’s (NATA) 2017 Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer (MDAT) award winners. The Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer award recognizes NATA members who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to leadership, volunteer service, advocacy and distinguished professional activities as an athletic trainer. MDAT exclusively recognizes NATA members who have been involved

Tagged with:

Students Volunteer at Camp Horizon

Rising Fawn, GA – Starting out the 2017-18 academic year students from the Physical Therapy Department will again volunteer a weekend of fun at Camp Horizon. The camp, on Lookout Mountain, allows kids with physical disabilities the opportunity to broaden their horizons by spending time with others in similar situations in the outdoor environment. From the Camp Horizon website: “Each camper is paired up with an a student volunteer for

Tagged with:

Dr. Jan Keys Receives Inaugural Alumni Award

Congratulations to alumna Dr. Jan Keys, for receiving the inaugural Outstanding Nursing Alumni award during the School of Nursing 40th Anniversary celebration on May 13th, 2017.

Dr. Chris Smith receives 2017 UT President’s Award

-Reposted for CHEPS Archive, Original Blog posted here by Chuck Cantrell on March 6, 2017- Chattanooga, TN– Dr. Chris Smith has received the 2017 President’s Award for CONNECT from the University of Tennessee for her outreach, engagement, service efforts and programs as director of the UTC School of Nursing and Student Health Services Clinic. In addition to her demanding administrative position, Smith developed and received a $1.2 million Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

School Psychology Student Wins Pearson Scholarship

Grad Student Darolyn Monroig was named the 2017 Pearson Minority Scholarship winner. She was one of four minority scholarship recipients on behalf of National Association of School Psychologists (NASP).

Tagged with: