Seven UTC Electrical Engineering (EE) students were awarded $1,000 scholarships for the spring semester sponsored by the department’s DOE workforce development grant. These Smart Grid Scholarships were established to provide a pipeline of qualified applicants to meet the workforce needs of the energy sector and energy-related businesses, particularly as it relates to green power, smart grid and renewable energy technologies.

The awardees include Brian Allbrooks, Wes Brown, Nick Johnson, David Nordy, Jr., and Joe Pfeiffer. The scholarship will be offered again for the fall semester and application instructions will be announced shortly.