Several UTC faculty members were honored for their work at the University.

Dr. Jamie Harvey, Instructor in Health and Human Performance, Pedagogy K-12, and Phillip Lewis, Assistant Professor of Art, were named 2013 UTAA Outstanding Teachers.  Lewis also received the 2013 University Outstanding Research Award.

Libby Byers, Instructor in the Department of Psychology, and Dr. Jim Tucker, McKee Chair of Excellence in Learning who teaches in the learning and leadership program and serves as a member of the School Psychology program, were named 2013 Student Government Association Professors.

Dr. Mary Tanner, Interim Provost, was honored with the 2013 Special Recognition for Outstanding University Service Award, as was Interim Chancellor Grady Bogue.

Dr. Kay Cowan, School of Education, earned the 2013 University Academic Advisor Award.

The 2013 Council of Scholars new inductees are Dr. Brian Ribeiro, UC Foundation Associate Professor, Philosophy and Religion; Dr. Steven Symes, UC Foundation Professor, Chemistry; Dr. Michelle White, UC Foundation Professor, History.

Dr. Verbie Prevost, George Connor Professor of American Literature, received the 2013 Carolyn Thompson and Roger Brown Community Engagement Award.

Media Relations Contacts: Email Shawn Ryan or call (423) 425-4363.