They teach. They mentor. They grade papers. On UTC Faculty Appreciation Day we celebrated all that our faculty does for our students, alumni, and university! 

Students expressed their enthusiasm for their favorite faculty members in this video.

Many outstanding faculty members have announced their retirement, and they were honored at a dinner on Faculty Appreciation Day at The Mill.

“We honor a group of col­leagues who have served our campus with distinction and dedication for many, many years and touched the lives of countless students across all disciplines. In fact, this group represents more than 600 years of combined service to this campus,” said Dr. Mary Tanner, In­terim Provost. Tanner will also retire—she joined the University in 1971.

College of Arts and Sciences

David Brodsky Political Science, Public Administration & Nonprofit Management, 1971

Rebekah Bromley Communication, 1998

Roland Carter Music, 1989

Linda Collins Biology and Environmental Sciences, 1979

Irene Loomis Mathematics, 1989

Maggie McMahon Art, 1986

Fouad Moughrabi Political Science, Public Administration & Nonprofit Management, 1968

Kittrell Rushing History, Communication, 1982

Felicia Sturzer Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures, 1977

Alan White Art, 1972

Jane Womack  English and ESL, 1986

College of Business

Thomas Gavin Accounting, 1971

Larry Ettkin Management, 1976

Marsha Scheidt Accounting, 1990

College of Health, Education and Professional Studies

Tony Lease Education, 1998

Kay Lindgren Nursing, 1998

Barbara Ponder Nursing, 2008

Barbara Ray Education, 1981

Larry Tillman Physical Therapy, 1990


Sarla Murgai Library, 1969

Media Relations Contacts: Email Chuck Cantrell or call (423) 425-4363.
Tagged with: