Dr. Diane Grob Schmidt ’67 has been elected to lead the American Chemical Society (ACS).  Schmidt, a chemistry graduate, was named the 1995 UTC Distinguished Alumni Award winner.

Dr. Diane Grob-Schmidt

Dr. Diane Grob-Schmidt

As President-Elect of the 163,000 member ACS, her honor “reflects in a most positive way on the traditions of learning, leadership, and service within the UTC Chemistry Department.  We are proud of Dr. Schmidt and grateful for her past, present, and future service to the chemical and scientific community,” said Dr. Tom Rybolt, head of the UTC Chemistry Department.

Since the first chemical degree was granted by our University in 1912, more than 1500 chemists have graduated. Alumni have used their knowledge and skills in industry, medicine, research, teaching, and other varied fields.

“For our department and our future students, Dr. Schmidt’s election is an inspiration of what can be achieved and offered to others through hard work, determination, and a molecular perspective,” Rybolt said.

Media Relations Contacts: Email Shawn Ryan or call (423) 425-4363.
Tagged with: