The Mario C. and Grace B. Charles Foundation Scholarships are awarded annually to students in two different categories: engineering and education, in honor and memory of husband and wife  Mario C. Charles, formerly an engineer with TVA, and Grace B. Charles, formerly a teacher in the Chattanooga public school system.

John R. Burhman, Treasurer and member of the Board of Directors of the Foundation announces the scholarship recipients for the 2016-2017 school year.


  • Keith Schaal, Paris, TN, rising senior


  • Hailey O’Connor, Nashville, TN, rising junior
  • Kelsey Batts, Memphis, TN, rising senior
  • Bailey Hall, Harrison, TN, rising senior
  • Brenda Morris, Knoxville, TN, rising senior

The Charles Foundation Board of Directors also includes Dr. John Trimpey, a retired professor and Dean from UTC; Robert Moss, an engineering graduate of UTC; and Richard W. Buhrman, an honors graduate of UTC.

Media Relations Contacts: Email Shawn Ryan or call (423) 425-4363.
Tagged with: