The inaugural meeting of the newly-created Advisory Board for the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga will take place on Jan. 7, 2019.

The UTC Advisory Board was created pursuant to the UT FOCUS Act passed by the Tennessee General Assembly in 2018. The board is comprised of five members appointed by the governor and approved by the General Assembly, one UTC faculty representative appointed by the UTC Faculty Senate and one UTC student representative.

These are the appointed members of the UTC Advisory Board:

  • William (Muecke) Barker, Signal Mountain
  • Fred Decosimo, Signal Mountain
  • Serina Desai, Chattanooga
  • Carole Hoffman, Hixson
  • Scott LeRoy, Chattanooga
  • Gretchen Potts, UTC faculty

The board’s Jan. 7 meeting begins at 12 noon EST in the Tennessee Room of the University Center on the UTC campus. Agenda items include:

  • Election of a board chair
  • Review and adoption of bylaws
  • Appointment of a UTC student member to the board

The full agenda and materials for the meeting are available by contacting the individual below.

Disabled persons who wish to attend the meeting may contact the individual below to request auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate attendance. Contact may be made in person, in writing, by email, by telephone or other manner and no later than 5 p.m. EST on Thursday, Jan. 3, 2019.



Gina Stafford

423-425-4363 or



Media Relations Contacts: Email Shawn Ryan or call (423) 425-4363.

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Communications and Marketing at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Tagged with: