In 1962, President Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which it falls as National Police Week. This weeklong event pays special recognition to law enforcement officers, specifically, those who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others. It is also a week we can set aside to recognize the hard work and dedication of UTC Officers, who are here for our community 24/7 all year.

This year, UTC’s Police Department is also welcoming into our ranks four new dedicated officers who will be working to provide a safe environment for our campus. Officer Craigmiles, Officer Tabor, Officer Missel, and Officer Yates were all sworn in on May 04, 2021 in the Reading Room of the Guerry Center.

Chief Robert K. Ratchford, Captain John Boe, Sergeant-Community Engagement and Special Operations Edwin McPherson, Sergeant Lacy Bobo, Sergeant Craig Haney, and Sergeant Rebecca Tolbert

Sergeant John West, Corporal Ross Brenza, Officer Randy “Scott” Bishop, Officer Tyler McCune, Officer Wendell Hughes, and Officer Adrianne Snyder

Officer Jason Tillison, Officer Hayden Russell, Officer Dominic Craigmiles, Officer Sarah Tabor, Officer Ginger Yates, and Officer Lawrence B. Missel