Please join us for the first CUP-ECS Colloquium, Kokkos: C++ Performance Portability on HPC Platforms, presented by University of Tennessee at Chattanooga’s Tanner Broaddus. This event will take place Friday, January 22, 2021 at 12 p.m. PST/1 p.m. MST/ 3 p.m. EST on Zoom.

Colloquium
Friday, January 22, 2021 1 p.m. MST 

Kokkos: C++ Performance Portability on HPC Platforms
Tanner Broaddus, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Abstract: When writing parallel applications for HPC systems, developers need to consider the underlying architecture on which the application will run. This could lead to the developers being forced to choose a specific programming model such as CUDA, Pthreads, or OpenMP. With some parallel applications containing thousands of lines of code, the resources needed to refactor code from one programming model to another can be significant; thus, a need for an architecture-agnostic programming model for parallel applications has arisen within the HPC community.  Kokkos is a C++ programming environment that targets major HPC architectures to allow parallel applications to be written in performance portable code. It consists of a core library as well as containers and algorithms commonly used in HPC applications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*