View Online →
Dr. Steven Angle
Chancellor’s Update

This has been a semester for the record books!  I want to congratulate those students who are graduating at the end of this semester – CONGRATULATIONS!  We are proud of you and all you have accomplished during your time at UTC.  Your accomplishments are even more impressive given that you had to deal with the Coronavirus crisis and tornados in addition to the normal end-of-semester stress.

If there is a positive to take from this semester, it is the resiliency of UTC students, faculty and staff.  I am so proud of the way everyone has stepped up to help each other as the COVID-19 and tornados changed our world.

UTC faculty and staff continue to shine.  The University of Tennessee Alumni Association (UTAA) recognizes exceptional educators at every UT campus, and Gary W. Rollins College of Business faculty members Lisa Burke-Smalley and Hunter Holzhauer are the recipients of 2020 UTC Outstanding Teacher awards.  They will each receive a $1,000 stipend and be recognized later this year at a Board of Governors dinner celebrating award winners from all campuses.  Center for Professional Education Director John Freeze is the recipient of the UTAA Public Service Award, and he will be honored at the same event.  Kudos to Lisa, Hunter and John!

Michael Danquah, associate dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science, has been selected as a fellow for the Royal Society of Chemistry.  This is an incredible honor!  Founded in 1980, the London-based Royal Society of Chemistry is a governing body that acts as a global network to promote cooperation, mentorship and the advancement of chemistry.

Congratulations to Caroline Donsbach, the first UTC student to be awarded an American Occupational Therapy Foundation scholarship.  Caroline is currently in her second year of the three-year occupational therapy doctoral degree program at UTC.

The Southern Conference awarded the William V. Moore Scholarship to basketball guard and biology major Lakelyn Bouldin, who will receive a $2,000 award to defray the cost of her postgraduate education.  Golfer Kirsty Beckwith, who graduated magna cum laude with a degree in psychology in 2019, was the recipient of the SoCon’s Insurance Office of America Scholarship—also a $2,000 postgraduate education award.  Go Mocs!

A school-record four Mocs—Colin Brewer, Marshall Cooper, Jonathan Stovall and Nick Tiano—earned membership in the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame 2020 NFF Hampshire Honor Society.  What great news to share!  Members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must have completed their final year of playing eligibility in fall 2019, achieved a 3.2 cumulative GPA throughout the entire course of undergraduate study, met all NCAA- or NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements, and been starters or significant contributors throughout the 2019 season.

The spring 2020 edition of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Magazine is now available online.  The new issue was moved to an online-only format; the savings from printing and mailing costs were used to assist students in need of emergency financial assistance.  The spring issue includes a retrospective look at UTC advancements over the past decade.

This is the final C-Note of the academic year.  Have a great summer—and stay healthy.  Go Mocs!

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
615 McCallie Ave | Chattanooga, TN 37403
(423) 425-4141
Follow on Twitter
Find on Facebook
UT icon

Engaging students, Inspiring change, and Enriching community.

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga is a comprehensive,
community-engaged campus of the University of Tennessee System.