Please join us for the CUP-ECS Colloquium, “MPI Partitioned Communication for Highly Concurrent and Heterogeneous Systems,” presented by Ryan Grant of Sandia National Laboratories. This event will take place Friday, March 5, 2021 at 12 p.m. PST/1 p.m. MST/ 3 p.m. EST via Zoom. Contact Holley-Beeland@utc.edu for Zoom details.

Colloquium
Friday, March 5, 2021 3 p.m. EST 

MPI Partitioned Communication for
Highly Concurrent and Heterogeneous Systems
Ryan Grant, Sandia National Laboratories

Abstract: MPI partitioned point-to-point communication is a new communication mechanism for the upcoming MPI 4.0 standard. Partitioned communication allows for the decoupling of communication control and data movement in MPI, allowing for highly-threaded applications and applications using accelerators like GPUs to efficiently use MPI. This talk will provide an introduction to MPI partitioned communication including the motivations behind the approach. The foundational elements on which MPI partitioned point-to-point communication were based and the reasoning behind the design will also be covered. Finally, this talk will preview the proposed extensions for MPI partitioned communication for 4.1 that will enable improved performance for accelerators like GPUs.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*