Inaugural Volkswagen Scholars with Dean Pack and Provost Jerald Ainsworth

Inaugural Volkswagen Scholars with Dean Pack and Provost Jerald Ainsworth

Over one hundred of the College’s students, faculty, and staff joined CECS Advisory Board Chairman and EPB Board Chairman Mr. Joe Ferguson, UTC Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Jerald Ainsworth, and Dean Daniel Pack in celebrating an evening recognizing student and faculty scholarship and service. Held on April 20th, the CECS Awards Dinner highlighted the outstanding work of students, staff and faculty in the areas of academic excellence, research, and community outreach. The event featured opening comments by Mr. Ferguson, reflections on their experiences in the College by graduating seniors Amanda Wade and Abbas Shahid, and congratulatory remarks by Dean Pack and the College Department Heads.

Merit Scholarship awards for 2016-17 totaling over $100,000 were announced that evening, including the first recipients of scholarships sponsored by Volkswagen Group. Dr. Neslihan Alp, Engineering Management and Technology Department Head and Graduate Program Coordinator, was recognized for her recent service as Interim Dean of the College, and Associate Dean Dr. and Emeritus Faculty Member Dr. Ed McMahon, was thanked for his service to CECS and congratulated on his upcoming retirement.

Also recognized at the CECS Award Dinner were 2016 University-Wide Award recipients: Dr. Mina Sartipi who received the Outstanding Research and Creative Achievement Award, Dr. Gary McDonald for the Outstanding Serving Students and the Public Award and Dr. Neslihan Alp for the Outstanding Advising Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *