UTC and Brock Scholars Alumnus Andy Walker, III, MD FAAEM, class of 1981 received the 2016 James Keaney Award from the American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM). Named after the founder of AAEM, this award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to their organization. Walker is recognized for his remarkable work in the Tennessee legislature to protect emergency physicians from restrictions on their right to practice.

The award was presented at the 22nd Annual AAEM Scientific Assembly held at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, NV, February 17-21, 2016.

Walker is a practicing emergency physician in Tennessee. He currently serves on the Board of Trustees of the University of Chattanooga Foundation and UTC’s Honors College Advisory Board. He is a founding member of AAEM and served on the board of directors from 2006 to 2015. Walker is currently an ex-officio representative as the editor of Common Sense, the AAEM member magazine. Walker is also currently the President of the Tennessee Chapter Division.

Media Relations Contacts: Email Shawn Ryan or call (423) 425-4363.

University Relations Staff Writer. (423)425-4363

Tagged with: