Davan Maharaj ’89 has been named recipient of the 2016 UTC Distinguished Alumnus Award, and Scott LeRoy ’79 has been named the Outstanding Service Award winner. Maharaj and LeRoy were honored May 6 when the UTC Alumni Board hosted its annual “Legends and Leaders” ceremony.

The UTC Distinguished Alumnus Award was established in 1969 by the UTC Alumni Council to recognize alumni who have made significant contributions to the community and society, and whose accomplishments and career activities have reflected glory on the university. Selection criteria for the award includes having a national or international reputation in his or her field; outstanding contribution to science, medicine, the arts or other fields; and selection for national or international awards. Learn more about this year’s winner, Maharaj, here

Davan Maharaj speaking behind a podium

Davan Maharaj

In 1985, the UTC Alumni Council initiated the Outstanding Service Award to honor an individual who has given outstanding service to the University and community. By going above and beyond in his advocacy for the university, LeRoy is the newest recipient of UTC’s Outstanding Service Award. Learn more about Leroy here.

Scott Leroy

Scott Leroy


Media Relations Contacts: Email Shawn Ryan or call (423) 425-4363.

University Relations Staff Writer. (423)425-4363

Tagged with: