One native Chattanoogan and two former UTC faculty members were honored recently for their philanthropy.

Probasco awarded UT Haslam Presidential Medal

Long-time UTC supporter Scott L. Probasco, Jr., was awarded the 2010 Jim and Natalie Haslam Presidential Medal from the University of Tennessee Development Council.  Probasco is Chair Emeritus of the Executive Committee of SunTrust Bank in Chattanooga. His father founded the financial institution that later became SunTrust Bank.

Created in 2007, the award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to UT’s philanthropic efforts.  Recipients must exhibit a distinguished record of supporting philanthropy at the University through exemplary giving, volunteer leadership, and service.

A former UT trustee, Probasco has served as an officer of the University of Chattanooga Foundation and a past member UT Development Council. He also is a recipient of the UTC Alumni Board’s Outstanding Service Award. He served as chair of the UTC Centennial Campaign and is a member of the Chattanooga leadership committee for the $1 billion Campaign for Tennessee.

In 2005, UTC’s South Campus was dedicated in his honor.

Dr. Joseph and Mary Jackson honored

The Southeastern Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals recently honored Dr. Joseph A. Jackson and his wife, Mary B. Jackson, as Chattanooga’s Outstanding Philanthropists.

From 1973 to 1994, Dr. Jackson served as professor and dean of libraries at UTC.

Professor Jackson’s career was well established before she founded the UTC School of Nursing in 1973.   She joined the U.S. Cadet Nurse Corps and the Army Nurse Corps Reserve.   She had also served as director of nursing at Erlanger and as an assistant professor at the University of Alabama.

The Jacksons created the Professor Mary B. Jackson Founders Chair in Nursing, the Mary B. Jackson Professorship, a travel and research fund for the Chair; the Professor Mary B. Jackson Award for Nursing Students and the Dr. Joseph A. Jackson Library Award, bestowed annually upon an outstanding library faculty member.

Media Relations Contacts: Email Chuck Cantrell or call (423) 425-4363.
Tagged with: