University faculty were honored for their accomplishments in teaching, research, service, and outreach at this year’s Faculty Honors Day.

“At UTC, we are fortunate to have an amazing collection of highly qualified teaching scholars who take their commitments to advising, teaching, research, creative endeavors and service very seriously,” Provost Dr. Phil Oldham said.

Dr. Steve Underwood of Health and Human Performance was awarded the 2012 University Academic Advisor Award.

“Dr. Underwood manages more than 150 advisees in the Department of Health and Human Performance. Additionally, he mentors the K-12 education majors in preparation for the Praxis exam, resulting in an almost 100 percent pass rate. He spends countless hours working with future professionals in seeking to understand their needs and helping them navigate the University process,” UTC Chancellor Dr. Roger Brown said.

Dr. Pedro Campa of Foreign Languages and Literatures, and Dr. Ralph Covinio of History were awarded the 2012 University of Tennessee Alumni Association (UTAA) Outstanding Teacher Awards. Each year, the University of Tennessee Alumni Association recognizes two faculty members on each of the UT campuses for their outstanding teaching.

The 2012 UTC SGA Outstanding Professors were Michael Giglio of Political Science and Sara Jahansouz of University Studies. This award is presented by the SGA every year to two outstanding professors chosen by the student body for exemplary teaching skills and exceptional concern for students.

The 2012 Outstanding University Service Award winner was Dr. Leroy Fanning of Health and Human Performance. During his time at UTC, Fanning has served on the Athletics Academic Standards Committee 25 times, the SACS Reaccreditation Team three times, and NCAA Recertification team three times.

The recipient of the 2012 University Outstanding Research Award is Dr. John Graef from Mathematics. Graef has coauthored more than 320 papers during his career, and was honored with a special edition of the Electronic Journal of Qualitative Theory of Differential Equations.

Dr. Lisa Burke of Management, Dr. John Phillips of Philosophy and Religion, and Dr. Sean Richards of Biological and Environmental Sciences were inducted into the Council of Scholars. The Council of Scholars was established by the campus and the University of Chattanooga Foundation to honor outstanding scholarly endeavors from UTC faculty.

List of 2012 Retirees

  • Dr. Pedro Campa, Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Billy Edwards, Mathematics
  • Dr. Leroy Fanning, Health and Human Performance
  • Roland Fanselau, Mathematics
  • Dr. Greg Grant, Chemistry
  • Dr. Virginia Keatley, Nursing
  • Dr. Charles Knight, Engineering
  • Gale Mauk, English
  • Dr. Richard Rice, History
  • Dr. Stephanie Smullen, Computer Science
  • Dr. Clint Smullen, Computer Science
  • Dr. James Ward, History
  • Dr. William Wright, History
  • Lecturer James Wyatt, Management

For the full list of awardees, click here.

Media Relations Contacts: Email Shawn Ryan or call (423) 425-4363.
Tagged with: